All applications must be submitted through www.governmentjobs.com
All inquires about the hiring process must be directed to [email protected]
Click here to fill out a job interest card and you will receive an email when the next process opens.
Yes, please follow this link. https://iosolutions.com/nfsi-preparation-materials/
No, we do not have a residency requirement.
No, this is an entry level position. If selected to attend our academy, all training will be provided.
The list includes but is not limited to the following.
- Drug use in the last 12 months.
- DUI charge in the last 3 years.
- Reckless driving charge in the last 3 years.
- Court assigned ASAP in the last 3 years.
- Felony conviction in the last 5 years.
- Greater than -10 points on Virginia drivers license.
- Not eligible to hold a Virginia Emergency Medical Services certification.
The requirements to apply are:
- 18+ years of age at time of selection.
- High school diploma, GED or equivalent work experience.
- Must possess a valid driver’s license at time of application and throughout employment.
Current Fire and Rescue Technician I starting salary is $52,749.
Prince William County offers a generous benefit package including:
- Health, Dental, and Vision Insurance
- Life Insurance
- Annual and Sick Leave
- Retirement Plans
- Tuition Reimbursement
You can find out more information about our benefits here.
All employees of the Department of Fire and Rescue are required to complete Fire and EMS training and to be proficient at all skills learned in the basic training academy throughout the duration of employment.
You apply to become a member of one of the Volunteer Departments. Each Department has their own membership process. Once you are accepted as a member, the Department will arrange your training and provide you with everything you need to volunteer. Each department has a membership application on their website.
If you are not sure about which Department you would like to join, you can find information about each Department on their websites here.
In order to become a volunteer, you must be:
- At least 18 years of age
- Able to pass a criminal background check (done by the FBI through the Virginia State Police)
- Pass a medical physical at no cost to the applicant/member.
Some Volunteer Departments accept members into their Junior Member Program at age 16.
Thirty volunteer hours a month (360 hours a year) are required to be considered an active volunteer. Each individual volunteer department may have additional requirements.
Firefighter I and II are offered along with other specialized training. EMT-B (Emergency Medical Technician – Basic) is also offered. There are other specialized trainings, for example: Vehicle Rescue, Swift Water Rescue, and many more.
Yes, firefighting certificates of training can be “Pro-Boarded”. EMT (Emergency Medical Technician) is a Nationally Recognized certification.
Yes and No. Some fire departments will require you to attend their recruit school even if you have current certificates. Some fire departments look for those who already have been trained as a firefighter and/or EMT and have years of field experience.
You will be provided with a station uniform for duty and all required Personal Protective Equipment (PPE).
- Volunteers who live in Prince William County can claim one vehicle to be exempt from personal property tax.
- Automatic enrollment in the Length of Service Awards Program (LOSAP), which is a retirement program for volunteers. At the 10 year mark of volunteering, you will be fully vested. For each year of volunteer service, you will be credited with $10 for each year of service once you reach age 60 (Example: 22 years of service x $10 = $220 a month beginning at age 60).
- Station Uniform and Personal Protective Equipment
- All necessary training provided
- Tuition Reimbursement
- Employee Assistance Program
- Annual Medical Physical
- Workers Compensation Insurance
- Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance
While we encourage all of our firefighters to become EMTs, a volunteer can be a firefighter, an EMT, or both.
The Volunteer Departments in the Prince William County Fire and Rescue System have insurance that will cover the costs of any injury that occurs while performing your duties while on duty or in training. Each member is also covered for short-term and long-term disability.
New members can begin riding after completion of initial mandated training. This training can be completed in one to three months depending on the members ability to complete the training.
Some jobs do require an EMT-B (Emergency Medical Technician – Basic) certification. Depending on your career path, having a specialized certification can be very helpful.
Yes, colleges and universities look for a sense of community service from their applicants. They will follow up with the Volunteer Fire Department the applicant has listed.
All of the in-person training is done at the Prince William County Public Safety Training Center (PSTC) located in Nokesville VA. Volunteer Fire Departments hold some in-house training and some training is offered online.
No, all required equipment, protective gear, uniforms, and training are provided to you at no cost.